可穿戴应用中的线性充电器

作者:Hank Cao, Applications Engineer, Monolithic Power Systems

介绍

可穿戴设备正逐步融入到我们的生活中,不仅在健康领域,在医疗护理,娱乐,安防以及金融等领域都可以见到它们的身影。在所有的应用中,电池的使用时间以及设备的尺寸是可穿戴设备需要考虑的地方。

对于设备的尺寸来说,应用中会要求主板具有小尺寸,主板上的元件也要尽量少,这意味着主板上的IC要有小封装同时高度集成。比如当下比较流行的智能手环,通常主机的尺寸也就在20mmx20mm左右,在主机内的主板尺寸会更小,而电池包通常会占用主板的一面,其他元件贴在主板的另一面,这些元件的封装都及其受限。

基于上述原因,CSP这种形式的封装比较适合应用在可穿戴设备中,因为这种封装具有小尺寸和低高度(见图1)。

Figure 1: Chip in a CSP Package

图1: CSP形式的封装

除了封装,主板电路的优化设计也及其重要,高度集成会是减小主板尺寸的有效途径。将功率元件及控制电路高度集成到IC中,会减少主板上元件的数量,从而减小主板的尺寸(见图2)。

Figure 2: Traditional Solution vs. Highly Integrated Solution

图 2: 传统方案 vs. 高度集成方案

对于高度集成的IC,灵活性会是很重要的特点。例如,对于高度集成的充电IC,各种充电参数都可以通过程序来控制,以适应不同的应用场景,这将提供很好的客户体验。如果IC集成I2C接口,这就给客户提供了根据不同需求来管理充电,同时监控充电状态和异常情况,这将极大提供IC的灵活性。

电池是可穿戴设备中及其重要的元件,充电IC负责给电池安全充电同时提供电池和负载之间的双向功率控制。这样,充电IC在给负载提供功率的同时,可以给电池充电,当负载功率超过输入源功率的时候,电池可以给负载补充供电,以满足负载的应用。通常,充电IC采用带有输入电压环和输入电流环的功率通路控制来实现上述功能(见图3)。

Figure 3: Separate System and Battery Control

图3: 功率通路控制

采用功率通路之后,充电IC还可以提供电池放电保护,诸如过流保护以及电池欠压保护。在应用中,如果系统失控,对系统进行复位操作就显得极其重要,以防止不可以预期的损坏,功率通路也可以为充电IC提供系统复位操作,同时还能提供运输模式,以降低运输过程中的电池功耗。

可穿戴设备中的电池容量很小,通常在几十mAh到一百多mAh之间,而客户又期望电池有较长的时间时间,所以充电IC要有较低的静态功耗以延长电池的使用时间。以70mAh的电池为例,如果要求使用3天,那么平均消耗电流要小于1mA。在只有电池连接到充电IC的应用中,小于10µA静态电流对充电IC来说也是很大的挑战,这是因为低静态电流会影响系统处对负载瞬变的响应。

除了对充电电流,充满电压的精确控制之外,充电IC还要能够提供电池过压保护,监控电池的温度,以及其他的安全保护措施。

应用于可穿戴设备中的理想充电方案应该具有小尺寸,低元件数,灵活的充电管理,以及可靠的保护措施。MPS提供这样的理想充电方案----MP266x系列线性充电IC,其采用WCSP的紧凑封装,同时高度集成,以及低于13µA的静态电流。

总结

在可穿戴应用中,小尺寸和低静态电流是对电池充电IC的重要考量,理想的充电IC应能够达到这两项要求,同时高度集成以及灵活的控制。来自MPS的MP266x系列线性充电IC是可穿戴应用中的卓越方案,该系列产品采用MPS业界领先的MOSFET和模拟工艺,诠释了对可穿戴应用的优化设计。

想了解更多关于MP266x系列线性充电IC,请参考 Linear Battery Chargers page.

The Linear Charger in Wearable Applications

by Hank Cao, Applications Engineer, Monolithic Power Systems

Introduction

Wearable devices have become increasingly integrated into our lives. In addition to being used in fitness devices, they have also worked their way into other fields, including medical care, entertainment, security, and finance. In all applications, battery life and component size are two key concerns.

In regards to component size, applications require the main board within the wearable device to have a small size and low BOM, which means a small package and high integration are required for each IC on the main board. For example, smart bands, a very popular wearable device, require a small main body size (usually 20mm×20mm). The main board within the body is even smaller. The battery pack takes up a large portion of the board space, leaving components to be mounted on the other sides of the board and severely limiting the size and height of components.

For this reason, the chip scale package (CSP) is an ideal package choice in wearable applications, since this package is at a chip scale level with a low height (see Figure 1). With regards to the chip size, an optimized circuit design and process take an important role.

Figure 1: Chip in a CSP Package

Figure 1: Chip in a CSP Package

High integration of power MOSFETs and control circuitry is another way to reduce board size in wearable applications. Higher integration reduces the number of external components of the IC on the main board, reducing the total size (see Figure 2).

Figure 2: Traditional Solution vs. Highly Integrated Solution

Figure 2: Traditional Solution vs. Highly Integrated Solution

Programmability is also an important feature in wearable applications. For example, the charging parameters can be programmed in real application scenarios, which provide a better customer experience. Battery charger ICs with an I2C interface are ideal for customers needing to meet various requirements and can also allow the host to flexibly monitor any status and fault during charging.

The battery is a critical component of wearable equipment. The charger IC should charge the battery safely and ideally have a separate bidirectional control between the system and the battery. This way, the charger IC can power the system even with a dead battery by regulating the system to a minimum voltage level and operating the battery switch as a linear regulator. When the system load exceeds the input source capability, the battery can supplement power to the system to enable higher power draw for brief periods of time. Normally, the charger IC can implement power path management with input voltage and current loops to achieve the above functions (see Figure 3).

Figure 3: Separate System and Battery Control

Figure 3: Separate System and Battery Control

With the help of the power path, the charger IC can also provide battery discharge protection, such as over-current protection (OCP) and battery under-voltage lockout (UVLO) when only the battery is present. In applications where the system runs in and out of control, it is important to reset the system to prevent any unexpected damage. With the help of the power path, the charger IC can reset the system safely, even during shipping mode.

The battery in wearable applications is small (in the range of several tens of mAh to 100+ mAh), while customer usually expect several days of runtime. The charger IC should also have a low quiescent battery discharge current to extend the battery runtime. Using a 70mAh battery as an example, three days of runtime is typically required, so the average consumption current is less than 1mA. Achieving a quiescent current less than 10µA is challenging for a charger IC while it is enabled with only a battery connected. This is because a low quiescent current impacts system response and accuracy. For example, battery under-voltage lockout (UVLO) is a key parameter in preventing a battery over-discharge, which requires high-accuracy circuits to be active to monitor the battery voltage and control the battery MOSFET. 

In addition to an accurate charging control, such as accurate charging current and charging voltage, the charger IC should also have battery over-voltage protection (OVP), temperature monitoring, and other robust safety features.

An ideal solution for wearable devices would have a small size, low BOM, high integration, flexible charging configurations, and a number of protection features. MPS has that ideal solution in the MP266x family of linear chargers. MP266x devices come in ultra-compact WCSP packages while maintaining fully integrated power switches with no external block MOSFETs required and less than 13µA quiescent current in standby (battery only) mode.

Conclusion

Small size and low quiescent current are key concerns for battery chargers in wearable applications. An ideal solution can achieve these two requirements while being highly integrated and offer programmable charging parameters for use with a wide variety of batteries. The MP266x linear charger family from MPS is an excellent solution for charger ICs in wearable applications. These devices take advantage of MPS’s industry-leading power MOSFET and programmable analog technology to optimize wearable designs.

To learn more about the MP266x family of linear chargers, visit our Linear Battery Chargers page.

______________________________________

Did you find this interesting? Get valuable resources straight to your inbox - sent out once per month!